A Small Copper (and a Dead Head)

I woke up this morning to a clear blue sky and I went straight out and I got lucky. It is not every day that I find a Small Copper in such good condition.

The Small Copper belongs to the family Lycaenidae also known as Gossamer-winged Butterflies. The Common Blue that we have had on here, quite a lot, is from the same family and these two butterflies are about the same size (little)

They normally have two broods a year (sometimes three) with the second brood appearing in August. This one is obviously from that second brood and brand spanking new.

There’s lovely.
Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper Butterfly

The Hover Fly that is muscling in on our photo shoot is Myathropa florea, the Dead Head Hover Fly that we had on here a few days ago. (The bush they are on is Rubus fruticosus, The Bramble 🙂 )

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper ButterflyThe shoot went down hill a bit when the Fly turned up but I managed to salvage a few decent pics….

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper Butterfly

Small Copper ButterflyThat is a beautiful little animal 🙂

7 thoughts on “A Small Copper (and a Dead Head)”

  1. Your colorful photography just takes my breath away. I usually ignore the less exotic butterflies, but I’m starting to see their brilliance better as my mind is better trained.

    Like

  2. Always a joy to read your post and without fail a smile always comes. 🙂 I am thankful for you and you talent and observations! Peace my friend.

    Like

Leave a comment