Rosebay and Willowherb

Before Fizz and I could get lost today I was collared by my landlord. He wanted me to take photographs of his Sheep.

He said that he wanted to put them on the internet. These are Blue Texels and he has been raising them for breeding. Now they have reached an age when he needs to find them partners and he thinks that will be easier if he puts their photos on the internet.

I am not from farming stock and I don’t understand these things but I am happy to be of help. I suppose that there are a lot of lonely farmers out there and so I got to work.

The girls were not very co-operative and I didn’t get very far today.

Blue TexelsSo this is work in progress but this is Rosebay..

RosebayDoes my bum look big in this?

It’s an orchard, everyone’s bum looks big in an orchard, just turn around, you look wonderful.

RosebayBravissimo!

This is Willowherb.

Blue TexelsNow I like her but these days I am not really thinking of going through all of that relationship stuff again. I am comfortable with my own company. If you would like to get to know Willowherb better then just leave a comment and I will pass your name on to my landlord.

I couldn’t spend all day photographing his sheep because I had to take his Dog for a walk.

I genuinely try and be nice to and help everyone that I meet from the moment that I wake up in the morning but I don’t just want to be marked down as a “Glamour” photographer. Whilst Fizz and I were out we saw a pretty flower.

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay Wilowherb

 

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay Wilowherb

Rosebay WilowherbI couldn’t tell you what it was but it sure was a pretty one.

24 thoughts on “Rosebay and Willowherb”

  1. This was FABULOUS. The sheep are beautiful, even with paint on their backs????? The flowers are lovely and it’s too late…you are a glamor artist now…you only have to look at the sheep to know that:)

    Like

    1. Thank you Gigi πŸ™‚ A lot of Sheep wear paint but it is a little bit different here. There are ancient laws that allow people who live within the forest to graze their sheep (and pigs) on common land. They just let them out to wander where they will and so it is common to be walking through the forest and to meet a flock of sheep. They also wander around the villages and roads, even the busy roads. Sheep rule. I will have to do a post about this sometime.

      Like

  2. This is a lovely dating website you have here, but the personality test must really be something. (Goes off in a corner to giggle.)

    Like

    1. Thanks Maia πŸ™‚ Sheep have lovely personality, it is the fellows that want to date them that I would wonder about. It must take some front to walk in to a restaurant and ask for grass πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. the ladies are lovely, they look like they would be nice to spin. your flower looks like fireweed (well know in northwestern Canada) also know as rosebay and willowherb – I kid you not! Wikipedia has a good description.

    Like

  4. A sheep dating agency? We’ll go for that in the valleys. Welly boots at the ready. All I know about Rosebay Willowherb is that it is the larval food plant for the Elephant Hawkmoth. And there’s not many people know that.

    Like

  5. The sheep are beautiful and well maintained. And their bums don’t look too big at all! Great work, Colin! Oh, the farm is just lovely. Why anyone would choose the city over the country is beyond me. Happy Trails!

    Like

  6. Loved the change of pace. I don’t know much about sheep, but I love to knit.
    As for the flower… We call that Fireweed (because it grows profusely in burnt over areas) over here. It’s the territorial flower of the Yukon Territory in Canada, where it is a bit shorter and the colour is more intense (must be because of the northern latitude and short growing season – a sort of alpine variety). I know you like latin names, so, Chamerion angustifolium , also known as Epilobium angustifolium.
    I don’t know if you really were unaware of the name of this flower or if you were winking at all of us. Another name for it – one more commonly used in Britain, I think – is Great Willowherb. :o)

    Like

  7. So funny and so clever! I believe that many people don’t appreciate your tongue-in-cheek humour. However, I think you’ll need the farmer’s help with the photographing! You won’t know which ones you’ve done and which you haven’t.

    Like

Leave a Reply

