Butterfly Day

As I start this post it is coming up to midday here in the UK and it has been raining steadily for the last eight hours.

I have been dreading this scenario. There will soon be thirty two butterflies flapping around in my kitchen with nowhere to go.

RainCan you imagine the cacophony that thirty two pairs of wings will create. My landlord will be banging on my ceiling, “What’s going on up there?”

It says in my lease, “No pets and no more than thirty animals in the kitchen at any one time.” That is why I borrow the Dog from downstairs.

Fizz is not allowed in my flat, she is not even allowed in her own house. It is sort of a farming thing that animals sleep outside. I could get into a lot of trouble today so I hope that the sun comes out this afternoon.

I thought that you might like to see Butterflies emerging from their chrysalis. I have speeded this video up to twice normal speed to make it a bit easier to watch. I tried 4x but the movements became jerky and unnatural and I didn’t like it.


There are eight Butterflies drying their wings out in my kitchen cupboard at the moment.

The ones that emerged yesterday spent the night in there and I released them this morning at around ten o’clock when we had a brief break in the rain.

Peacock ButterflyThat is the perfect form. Absolutely beautiful.

There will be a lot more Butterfly photographs to follow.

 

30 thoughts on “Butterfly Day”

    1. Thank you Hien πŸ™‚ After they emerge from the chrysalis it takes them several hours to fully inflate and dry their wings. In that time they roll out their long tongues and twitch their antennae. They must be being bombarded with new sensations. It is wonderful to watch them.

      Like

  1. very good video; I watched it full-screen, great focus; especially liked the face markings, which show up best on the one top left;
    the dried and fluffed-out one is beautiful.
    I have a ‘no pets’ lease too 😦 I wish my landlord would add an animals-in-kitchen clause; I would love a llama……. πŸ™‚

    Like

Leave a Reply

